The BEST Corn on the Cob

One last summery side….

We love this time of year because our favorite corn is now in stock (in abundance) at our local farmer’s market. It is King White Corn- supposed to have a bigger kernel and be sweeter than Queen White Corn- and is the best corn we have ever tasted. We also cook it a certain way, and I thought I’d let you in on our delicious method.

Turn oven on to 400

Lay your corn out

Cut off any loose part of the husks. Keep your cutting to a minimum; you want to leave as much husk as possible.

Place directly on the oven rack and bake for 30 minutes. Cooking them in husks like this is supposed to give more flavor. Apparently the flavor is in the silks (the stringy parts of the husk) and cooking like this gives the corn the flavor from the silks. Even if this isn’t true, there’s something about cooking it like this that gives the corn more flavor.

**There is no need to set them this close to each other, but I was using my toaster oven because my regular one needed cleaning. 

While it cooks, gather these ingredients: butter, parmesan cheese, parsley flakes, and kosher salt.

Melt a little butter in a small dish. Sprinkle in some parmesan, parsley, and salt. Stir. I totally don’t measure for this.

Remove corn from the oven. They’re are usually not this brown; they will be brown just not this brown. Mine were browner than usual because, remember, I cooked them in the toaster oven and therefore set closer to the top of the oven.

At this point, you can peel off the husks and cut as usual. Or you can peel back the husks to use as a handle.

I go ahead and cut mine because it’s easier for the kids. Brush on your buttery topping and taste the best corn you’ve ever had!

Make sure you prepare A LOT. Everybody will want seconds. The little girl below could eat 6 ears herself.



2 Comments

Filed under food

2 responses to “The BEST Corn on the Cob

  1. MARY DUNCAN

    Maegan, I loved the art work and the corn recipe sounds yummy- I remember another little girl a little younger than Kyrie that just could not get enough of the corn on the cob prepared by her moma. You loved corn. That was a favorite of your first solid foods. Kyrie is a good commercial for your baked corn. I am trying to get to work by 8:00 this morning. I am going to take off at 4:00 to take Kameron and Brandon to the guitar store. Kameron wants a organ keyboard he thinks and there is a small used organ there for 250.00 that he thinks he would like to have. He wants me to see it. I’m impressed. He is saving money, planted a couple of very small trees for me for pay
    of course he has a savings account, but $2000.00 is the one he really wants but the broad picture seems too far away and 250.00 sounds better, I have the job of trying to get him to save for what he really wants. He loves music at this time of his life. All for that. Are you still trying to go to the special classes in Hershey, PA in October? I am going to see if you have more pictures, then I have to get ready for work. Love you grandma mary

    • maemarie

      Thank you Grandma! Let me know what Kameron ends up deciding. And yes, I would still love to go to Hershey, PA, but don’t have a ticket yet.

Leave a Reply

