Summer Drink: Fruit Infused Water

Well, school started back up for the Mister yesterday. He’s been doing school all summer long (and all last year, and during winter break, and all last summer) so I really didn’t expect that much change yesterday. My children aren’t “school-age” yet so our school years are pretty similar to our summers and vice versa. However, I think I went into shock yesterday. I think I had already grown quite accustomed to having Mark around for a little break last week. Another set of hands to help with the kids, to play with them, to discipline them, to help me clean, and to get some projects done. My focus of: what project can we do now and mark off our list, didn’t quite flow into yesterday very well. We didn’t have a particularly bad day at all; in fact, I really can’t think of anything in particular that caused me to go into shock. Really. I was very, very dizzy for a good portion of yesterday. Which is why by 4:20 in the afternoon, I was letting my 11 month old eat chocolate fudge pudding. Pudding! I don’t even know what’s in that stuff! And not only that, but I was letting my 2 year old paint her arms with it. And the indicator that I was out of my mind: I didn’t even care. I wasn’t even dreading cleaning up the mess. I stood there watching them while I washed dishes and then took pictures of the scene. 

So while I’m in denial that school is starting back up, I’m going to present you with one last summer drink today, maybe a summer DIY tomorrow, and then maybe I’ll get on track and bring you some back-to-school stuff next week.

I’ve always wondered why restaurants serve lemon in water. I don’t like it, and I just didn’t get it. But while the Mr. and I were on our honeymoon in Mexico, we were served water with orange in it. And it was delicious! That got us thinking what else we could put in water. A quick google search for fruit infused water will bring up several recipes. There are ones with rosemary, and some with mint and others with all sorts of different fruits. We haven’t tried any of those because we just love this one so much:

2 slices of an orange

3 slices of a granny smith apple sprinkled with lemon juice

Fill with water and let steep overnight for full flavor. We have found that refilling it two or three times is a good amount. Either that or three days before you need to replace the fruit. I hope you enjoy it. 

Do you put anything special in your water? What’s been your go-to drink this summer?

2 Comments

Filed under food

2 responses to “Summer Drink: Fruit Infused Water

  1. Mmmm…I made this last night to have on hand for when we get back from gardening. Love it! It’s so refreshing. I usually mix up some lightly sweetened tea, with a splash of lime juice.

    • maemarie

      ooh, I’ll have to try that one. Do you think limeade would work? We have a ton of limeade concentrate that we brought home from vacation.

Leave a Reply

