In lieu of

our weekend in photos, I present to you: Our Cow Family

(saying “moo”)

How cute is that baby tail?

Well we proved to Chick-fil-a that we were no chickens and got free breakfast, lunch, and dinner. That’s right three full meals. We made a day of it and have so many good memories to look back on. Karston’s excitement kept him up pretty late Thursday night. Thursday day I let the kids paint spots on their shirts and told them I would finish their costumes after they went to sleep. Here are some quotes from Karston as he lay in bed in anticipation for Friday.

“We’re gonna be a family of cows!”

“I am so excited!”

“Mommy, can you make me horns?”

“And a nose and mouth. I want a cow nose and mouth.”

“Oh, and I want milk.”

Me: “Milk? You mean an udder?”

Karston: “Yeah! An udder! I want an udder.”

Me: “I’ll see. I’m not sure I’ll have time to make you an udder.”

Made me laugh. And no, I didn’t have time for an udder. I made shorts for Karston and a skirt for Kyrie out of an old white sheet I had. Spots on a onesie for The Manon. Spots on a white t-shirt and black construction paper spots taped onto long underwear pants for Mark. Spots on a drop waist dress with ruffles around the collar made out of two white t-shirts for me. I actually really liked the style of my dress and plan on making me some more (in non-cow print fabric of course). We all wore cow tails made out of braided black and white yarn. We also printed out the cow ears off of Chick-fil-a’s website and taped them to headbands we already had. SOOO much fun. I’m already thinking of costumes for next year!

I also DID NOT have to go into a gas station to prepay for gas dressed like a cow. And the guy behind me DID NOT ask me, “What is it dairy day at work?” And I totally DID NOT give the guy a look and say, “Umm, no it’s free food at Chick-fil-a, of course.”

I also DID NOT have to answer the door to the mailman dressed like a cow. And I DID NOT have to turn around and show him my cow tail as I was running to the kitchen to grab a bill I needed mailed…….

6 Comments

Filed under crafts, everyday, food

6 responses to “In lieu of

  1. I don’t think I realized you’re cloth diapering! Or did I? I can’t remember. We are so glad we did CD’s for Aves.

  2. Oh yeah, I’m loving that you made an entire day of it. How perfect! Your costumes are awesome.

  3. Julie

    SO cute Maegan! Wow, you put a lot of time into your costumes. Thanks to your BLOG, I printed the paper “costumes” off the CFL website and we went with some friends for free dinner. Thank you!

    • maemarie

      Yeah!!! I’m so glad you did it. How fun. I was thinking…..didn’t you have a cow costume? Was it a little small? Or am I remembering someone else?

      And yes the costumes took way longer than I had planned. That always happens.

Leave a Reply

