Week 1 Update {No Extras}

Well, we’ve made it through one week of our No Extras, Bare Necessities, Essentials Only, whatever you want to call it month. Here’s some stats:

– We used 1/2 tank of gas.

– We went big grocery shopping.

– We bought me some more vitamins and stomach medicine

– We bought replacement screws for 50 cents and some screws that double as anchors.

This is actually a lot of gas for us to use in one week since everything is so close to our house, but by the time July 1st rolled around it had been eight days since we had driven anywhere (except church). So we had several errands to run, plus we drove Mark to school in the morning, picked him up for lunch, drove him back, and then picked him up at the end of the day. We probably would have saved a little money by having his bike tire repaired instead of driving him, but by the time he was out of class the bike shop was closed. So…. Oh, and usually the kids and I walk just about everywhere, but I’m having a lot of pain in my left foot and leg and couldn’t even put weight on it a couple of days.

If not driving in eight days sounds long wait until I tell you how long it had been since we went big grocery shopping or actually grocery shopping at all for that matter. SEVENTEEN DAYS. And no, I did not buy food for seventeen days. However, we had something to eat every meal, and we ate up a lot of what was in our pantry. That being said, we had to replace a lot of staples when we went grocery shopping. I am hoping for a quick run next week to pick up a few basic items like milk, yogurt, and some fruit/veggies.

At this point in our life we have also decided that my vitamins and my stomach pills are an essential. I have a very irritable stomach that can’t handle dairy among other things. I’m probably allergic, but I’m holding off on testing because I really LOVE cheese. It’s such a great, quick, protein snack that tastes good. After several nights of waking up throughout the night for bathroom runs in addition to the times I was waking up to feed The Manon (Kanon’s nickname), Mark decided it was an essential and got me some the next day. What do I take? Tummy Tune-up from Beeyoutiful. It has worked wonders for me.

And we had to make two runs to Home Depot that I was secretly happy about. I love that store. One, because I stripped a screw trying to attach a knob to our dresser, and out of the 5 billion screws that we have not one of them matched. And two, because the grate over the air return upstairs (which is the kids’ room) fell of the wall exposing some spiky ends to screws. We didn’t have any anchors on hand, so the Mr. picked up those screws that double as wall anchors. I really love those things, but this time they didn’t work. The holes left behind from the screws ripping out are so big that the anchors just fall out. We still need to fix this problem.

Things I wanted to buy but didn’t:

– A $3 candle while at the grocery store. The only two we have are pretty much gone.

– Colored Duck Tape. Especially Red, White, and Blue to make this banner.

– Paper plates. Remember we don’t have a dishwasher.

That’s all I can really remember. I’m sure there was more, but I obviously didn’t need/want it that bad if I can’t remember it. All in all it was a pretty easy week. I’m sure having free Chick-fil-a helped. There is one thing that I really, really want to buy: a replacement klean kanteen for Mark, a 20 oz insulated one to be exact. He had one. We both had them. We loved them. Because they really do keep your drinks ice cold or piping hot. I loved it because he drank more water when he had it. I drank more water. He now steals sips from mine when he’s home. His kanteen was stolen. From seminary. I’m struggling with whether or not I should buy him another one. The whole point of this month is NOT to wait until August to buy everything we wanted to buy in July, but rather to evaluate how we spend our money and see what is truly necessary. What should I do? Should I buy him another one?

I’ve really enjoyed our first week into our little month-long program. Our house has stayed cleaner. I’ve made Kyrie a couple of shirts and dresses. I made a journal, sewed a pillow, played with the kids more, and overall have been a lot calmer. I’ll keep you updated on next week.

4 Comments

Filed under No Extras Month

4 responses to “Week 1 Update {No Extras}

  1. I personally think you should get him another Kleen Kanteen. If he’s missing it so much that he’s stealing water from yours, then it might be a necessity. 🙂 It seems to enhance your lives, by promoting more water consumption, and it’s a reusable item, unlike the paper plates. And this site had them 50%, but maybe only for a few more hours?? http://www.babysteals.com/ But I’d also find a way to talk myself out of a purchase like that, just because.

    • maemarie

      Thanks for the input. I do think it’s a smart purchase, but it’s still a purchase though. You’re right, I should just do it.

  2. Oh, and I’m failing at our own no-extras month. I think we’ll have to buckle down and make the most of the rest of the month, and then August will be our for-real attempt. Because I forgot to tell Luke that we were doing this. And I bought a chair on craigslist. Ha!

    • maemarie

      Aww, well I look forward to seeing how you do next month. Oh, and I’d love to see a picture of the chair you bought. How’s that for supporting your no-extras month!?

Leave a Reply

