The Party

you know- the potty one. Yep, we had the potty party. And we went ALL out. Kyrie needs attention. A lot of attention. She needs to feel very special. (and of course she is very special) So just as I was adding things to “the party” that seemed way over the top and so much like a joke that I was laughing at the whole thing, the more she loved it. And that’s the great thing: as a family you can do over-the-top, ridiculous, goofy, unnecessary, silly things and it doesn’t matter one bit how crazy it is because you all love each other so much that you don’t care how crazy it is. We had goofy fun.

Her “prize” panties for being potty- trained, hanging from the wire art display board in the dining room. She was so excited to get to wear these which made me very excited because for a while I thought I was going to be ironing on Mater and Buzz Lightyear figures to plain white panties. 

Because making the potty chart  reminded me of making signs in cheerleading…..

I had 8 minutes while the dinner was in the oven. I ran down to the basement, used a broken foam brush and my finger, and made this sign. She loved it. And so did all our guests in the 2 weeks following.

 

The cookie cake that I never thought I would order. 

me: “Yes, potty party, and could you please draw a picture”

16ish year old boy: “Of….a toilet?

me: “Of a pair of panties. A pink pair please.”

boy: “like underwear.

me: “well sort of, but panties”

I should have drawn it for them. Oh well. Kyrie LOVED it.

 

Can you tell how excited she was? While she was waiting for us to get the cookie cake down (because, you know, it has to go on the highest shelf in the house until it is time to be eaten or it will be devoured in seconds while you’re not looking), she started singing, “Potty Party to me” to the tune of Happy Birthday. Made me smile.

4 Comments

Filed under holidays

4 responses to “The Party

  1. Great Job Kyrie! What a fun celebration. I think we could all use a few more parties in our life.

  2. Oh my goodness! I am loving this whole idea, and it makes me laugh to think that you ordered a cookie cake for it! That boy must have blushed. 🙂

  3. great ideas! I think we’re in the same phase of life right now, newborns and toddlers being potty-trained. Just started also with Luli and I think I will definitely have a potty party now! Looks like you all had fun!

  4. Julie Williams

    Haha, Maegan, this is so cute!!! I laughed reading the dialog of you and the cookie cake boy, so funny! What a great Mom you are!

Leave a Reply

