A Quarter

Today is my birthday. Twenty-five years ago today my mom drove herself to the hospital in the snow. Snow in Texas. And I was born- a month early. And my dad couldn’t get my mom any flowers for 3 days because everything was closed due to the snow. So much has happened in 25 years! Life seemed to be so slow and long at first and then it just seemed to get faster and faster- more like a vapor. I’m sure it will continue to feel that way. It has been a good 25 years. I thought I would be so much further along, and yet I never thought I’d be this far. I have an amazing husband and 3 wonderful children. I am doing what I always dreamed of doing. And it’s a wonderful life!

So in celebration, let’s do another giveaway! (They’re so much fun!) I have an extra copy of Noel Piper’s Treasuring God in Our Traditions. It’s been a while since I’ve read it, but I remember that it had great ideas for making all different holiday traditions more Christ centered. It also made me think, and continue to think up, new traditions to start. It’s a thin little book. And if you already have it, then you could give it to somebody else. I think it makes a great newlywed gift. So just leave me a comment telling me your favorite birthday story, something that happened this weekend, something funny, something random, just tell me something. And I’ll pick a winner tonight after the kids go to bed, and I’ll announce it in the morning!

Oh, and Friday our couch still looked like this. Maybe a couple of bottom cushions will get made this week.

And I’ll leave you with a few pics of the cutest baby in the world. I’m loving him so much. In the past few weeks he has really started to get some chub on his thighs- totally love it. Has started chewing on everything, including his thumb- might be a possible thumb sucker. Rolls over. And grabs his feet constantly  while laying on his back. 

5 Comments

Filed under birthday

5 responses to “A Quarter

  1. Angela

    Hi Meagan,
    I am so glad to know that it is your birthday! I wish I would have known before today but now I know! I hope you have a wonderful day!
    My favorite birthday memory was when i was 16 my parents surprised me by borrowing a friends limo (I know crazy right!) and loading up all my friends and taking us to the Hard Rock cafe in Dallas! So Fun! A couple years ago Ricky surprised me and took off from work on my birthday and we went to lunch and shopping! That was fun too! Can’t wait to hear about your day!

  2. Reagan Sapp

    Mrs. Keaton (It still sounds so new and yet so absolutely wonderful),

    A favortie birthday memory is one year when my mom and I came and picked everyone up early in the morning in their pajamas (cause they thought the party was going to be later that afternoon) and took them back to my house for a “brunch.” I specifically remember us playing a game where we had to eat our donuts that were tied from the cieling of the back poch with our hands behind our back. Such a fun memory. I remember you doing us some gymnastics moves out in the front yard and all of us standing arond our kitchen table just talking like we were eighteen. Such a treasured and wonderful memory. Happy Birthday sweet girl, I miss you.

    Reagan

    • maemarie

      I remember that birthday party too. I even remember what pajamas I wore- pink silky ones with lace on them! I forgotten the gymnastics until you mentioned it though. Was I a little show-off or what? I can’t believe I was taking your spotlight on your birthday!

  3. Heidi

    Hey Maeg! I hope it isn’t too late… one of my favorite birthday memories was when I was around 17 or 18 and my parents threw a surprise birthday party for me. I remember coming home from work and walking into a room full of friends from school… it was awesome because it made me feel so loved to have so many people show up. I will never forget how special it made me feel… a great memory.
    Happy Birthday to you! Love you!

  4. Amy

    That is one cute baby and it sounds like a great giveaway!

Leave a comment