Join Me

Here is our couch.

It was given to us. And we are very thankful. It is a wonderfully comfortable couch with full down cushions. However, the lines of the couch are not necessarily my style and the fabric is definitely not. So we thought about selling it and using that money to go towards another couch. But, this was (and still is) a very fine piece of furniture that retails for more than I can ever foresee us spending on a couch in our lifetime. So we decided to work with what we had. I found some fabric on sale at Joann’s- that was over a year and a half ago- and planned on redoing the cushions and making a slipcover for the base.

A couple of weeks ago while talking to one of our dear friends in Waco, she asked if I had finished the couch. And it made me so sad to answer no. It made me ask myself, “Why isn’t it finished?”  Is it because it seems like such a huge project? Is it because I haven’t made time to do it? Because really this couch sticks out like a sore thumb in every picture. I try to avoid it (in photos) if at all possible. So I was inspired. Inspired to finish. And I’m bringing you along for the ride whether you like it or not.

My plan was to finish the back 3 cushions last week and the bottom 3 this week, and then spend 2 weeks on the base. But only one got done last week. And the other 2 back ones were finished this week. So every Friday I will post a picture of our couch (even if nothing changes) until it is finished! Here’s our couch today. Two weeks after I started.

3 Comments

Filed under crafts

3 responses to “Join Me

  1. Can’t wait to see the finished project! I’m already loving the direction it’s heading.

  2. stacy

    This is so exciting. I cannot wait to see the finished product. I hope to get inspired to redo my couch.

  3. Pingback: A Quarter « …………………………………………………….

Leave a Reply

