reconstructive sewing

I love to go thrift/antique/bargain/garage sale shopping. Whatever you want to call it. I love the search. And I love the treasures. Ones that have a story- even if you don’t know what that story is. It just makes an item seem so much warmer. I love to repurpose items into better or even completely different things. The hunt. The find. The repurposing. The creating. The end result. I enjoy it all. 

But I missed a whole season of garage sales last year. It was my decision. It was a very hard one to make, as every Friday and Saturday I would feel this urge to go out and find a treasure. But we had just moved. I already had more boxes to sort through than I had hours in my day. I already (and still do) had lots of projects needing completed. I needed to be getting rid of stuff- not bringing more in. 

But then I found the Bargain Barn…..and oh, it filled that spot of all those missed garage sales. It is just down the street from us. They are only open 2 days a week for 3 hours each day. They have 2 small houses FULL of stuff and two garages FULL of stuff. Some stuff is new, some is old, sometimes I find a great deal, sometimes I think it’s marked a little high. But all the proceeds go to the Children’s Home so that’s fine with me. I have found all sorts of things there that I will have to share with you all, but today I’m going to share a sweater I found there. Now my hunt is not usually for clothes, but in this case I couldn’t pass it up.

Here’s the sweater I got for $1 (free for me, my mom bought it while she was here for Kanon’s birth)

And it had obviously never been worn because the plastic tags were still on it.

It was absolutely perfect for making Kyrie a dress!

I didn’t take pictures of the process (I’ll have to remember that next time), but it was really easy. The sweater was already the perfect length and the neck hole was perfect as well. I simply cut off the sleeves made them narrower and shorter using another one of her dresses to measure with. And I also angled the body of the sweater in an A-line shape to bring the shoulders closer together. I used the extra fabric from the sleeves to make her the little belt. Pretty cute dress for $1, right?

*Oh, and I just realized those boots are from the Bargain Barn also. Kyrie found them and HAD to have them. They were still in their original packaging from the store with the $49.99 price tag on the box- we got them for $15! They’ve been the perfect snow boot.

3 Comments

Filed under crafts

3 responses to “reconstructive sewing

  1. Tess

    I love this !!! I am so impressed with your creativity and eye for what things can be !

  2. What a great idea!! Your daughter and her dress are very pretty. I have a bunch of thrifted sweaters hanging around that would make great dresses for my baby. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

