results

Well, we received the test results from the MRI, but we still don’t really have any answers. The MRI confirmed that there are “changes in the deep white matter” of the brain that showed up on the CT scan. This could be nothing. It could be something caused by an infection I had while I was pregnant (not a particular infection- just anything really). Or it could be something serious. I wasn’t told what the serious possibilities were. My pediatrician is very much of the belief that we shouldn’t worry about something until we need to. I am right there with her. So we are being sent to a pediatric neurologist to further investigate this. His office is booked until August of 2010! But the awesome front desk lady from the pediatrician’s office worked some magic and got us an appointment on Feb 16. That still feels so far away, and makes me sad that 2 1/2 months from now we will still be on the phone with doctors, going to doctors, and searching for answers. In the meantime, I had the report from the MRI sent to one of my uncles who is a neurosurgeon to see if he can explain to me a little better just what it is that they’re seeing. I also picked up CD’s of the CT scan and MRI to mail to my father-in-law (who is a radiologist) to look at and get another set of eyes seeing those films. It is not that I do not trust the hospitals or doctors we are seeing, I just want to get as much information as possible and understand as much as possible. We love our Kanon so very much. It is very hard to imagine that there might be something very wrong on the inside of his body- he looks so perfect from the outside! We pray that it is nothing. However, if there is something we want to know what it is so we can do whatever is needed to care for him. 

So sorry for all these hard posts. I should have some more fun posts coming up!

3 Comments

Filed under everyday

3 responses to “results

  1. I am so sorry you have to go through this, we will continue to pray for sweet Kanon.

  2. Anna

    I have been keeping up and reading all your posts. We miss you and your sweet family. We will continue to pray for precious Kanon.

Leave a Reply

