Daily Archives: June 6, 2009

Proficiency to Come

There is an absolutely wonderful farmer’s market every saturday about a mile down from our house. Today was our first visit. I have never been to what I would consider a true farmer’s market. I anticipated that I would be overwhelmed. And that was so very true. When there are 5 + stands that sell beef how do you know which one to go to? How do you pick which stand to go to for honey? Or bread? Or strawberries? Oh, and what is bee pollen used for? I think I’ll ask next week. So we really had no goals for what we wanted to find/buy – main objective: take it all in – explore. I think we did just that . We had a wonderful time. I was a little surprised that there weren’t more vegetables.  A lot of the leafy variety, a few zucchini, lots of strawberries and that was about it. Also lots of eggs (made me think of our friends the Gunns and wonder if they’ve gotten any eggs yet). There were lots of flowers- really pretty ones too. Also surprised by the number of tents with just one specific item- such as grilling marinades. There were lots of things see and taste, and while I don’t think it will be much of a money saver in the produce section, it will be fun to go and get a  few treats. Here’s what we came away with today.

 

Farmer's Market goodies

1 pint strawberries

1/2 dozen eggs

1 small (but large) bag of freshly popped kettle corn- absolutely amazing!

1 loaf chocolate brownie bread

Also enjoyed while there.

     1 bottle Havana mojito cola

     2 pretzel sticks rolled in chocolate, peanut butter, & nuts

     Samples of cinnamon chip bread and granola

So while we didn’t get anything that we were expecting, we had a wonderful time as a family with lots of treats included. And I plan on becoming a proficient farmer’s market shopper very soon.

1 Comment

Filed under everyday, food