Fleece blanket

Yesterday our church went to a local nursing home to set up a little Christmas shop for the residents. It was composed of little figurines, scarves, blankets, ornaments, picture frames, journals, tote bags…a whole smorgasbord of things. We then gave the residents monopoly money to pay with. Everything was a dollar. It was so much fun to be able to bring some happiness and a good time to these people. There were some funny old ladies. It was a little depressing just to see these people so close to death and being treated like babies (and I’m not meaning they were being mistreated or treated poorly). Makes you think about life. Anyways, I had made some picture frames for the store which I forgot to take a picture of. They were just those wooden ones that are at Michael’s for $1 that I then covered in scrapbook paper that I already had. I also made two no sew fleece blankets. I’m sure everybody already knows how to make these, but I thought I’d give a tutorial anyways! Now I’ve never read any directions on how to do this so I could have just slaughtered the whole process and done something completely wrong, but they turned out pretty good so it couldn’t be that bad.

1. Get two pieces of coordinating fleece (I used one yard of each print) and lay them wrong sides together. And cut off any bad edges (the selvedge edge).

fleece blanket

2. Cut a rectangle out of the corner (which I already did before I took the above picture). I chose to do a rectangle instead of square which will make the fringe different lengths, but I wanted to keep as much width to the blanket as possible. I folded the blanket over to match up the corners until I had cut all four rectangles out.

corner of blanket

3. Next, pick a side and start cutting! You will be cutting fringe all the way around. I did not measure mine and purposefully made some different widths.  One inch give or take a little is a good measurement.

fringe

4. Keep cutting.

cutting fringe

5. And keep cutting! You’re almost finished.

cutting more fringe

6. Now it is time to knot. Grab the bottom piece of fleece in one hand and top fleece in another and tie a double knot.

knotting fringe

 

knot tying

7. Continue knotting all the way around! A break may be needed, but I actually found the monotony of it nice. 

knotting more fringe

 

8. You’re finished! You now have a completed blanket! And it only took about 30 minutes if you don’t count the time I took to photograph the process.

finished blanket

 

They were tons of fun to make and even more fun to see the people who got them (I wish I could have made more). And Karston and Kyrie loved them also. They have some cute Christmas fleece at Joann’s so I thought I might make them Christmas blankets. Not sure though. You know I had flannel reindeer sheets that my grandma gave me that I put on my bed every winter. I can’t believe my mom let me- looking back they weren’t really the most stylish thing. But it was associated with such a special time of year and made me excited. So I thought an extra blanket for their bed that is only brought out at Christmas time might be fun!

2 Comments

Filed under crafts, Tutorial

2 responses to “Fleece blanket

  1. MARY DUNCAN

    So enjoyed reading and viewing the pictures. You are so much like your mother, she enjoys doing for others, and gets much accomplished. Have a great day grandma m.

  2. MARY DUNCAN

    I am not sure if this is a repeat, the message said an error had ocurred. So enjoyed your tutorial and the write up of your trip. You and Calli are so much like your mother, she enjoys doing for others and you all accomplish many things. Have a good day! love you, grandma m.

Leave a Reply

