Makes Me Happy Monday (Part 2)


My wife makes me happy.

I asked her recently (foolishly, no doubt) if she loved me. She began to cry, and said, “Does it not look like I love you?” I paused and thought, “Why did I ask this question? Do I really not know?” I reminisced on the happenings for the day: the last 12 hours had been very hard, and I knew she loved me by all she had endured and accomplished.

Our King Jesus said, “If you love me, you will keep my commandments.” Similarly, my wife shows her love to me by keeping his commandments, so that he gets the glory. The wife God gave is me is a godly and submissive woman; and despite what every feminist on the planet says, her gentle and quiet spirit is very precious in God’s sight. My wife eats the bread of exhaustion, not idleness; she pours herself out like a drink offering for her family, and God is pleased.

I wonder sometimes…if in heaven, one of the believers nearest Jesus’ throne will be a housewife no one has ever heard of?

I wonder sometimes…what I would accomplish in this life if I worked one tenth as hard at studying as my wife works for our family? (John Calvin part deux, anyone?)

I love you dearly my wife. You are an inspiration to me. You are a most meet help, knit together by God in your mother’s womb for me. I praise and thank Jesus for the gift you are. Let us glorify Him together—better than we ever could have alone.

“Many women have done excellently, but you surpass them all.”

-Mark
(Posted without permission)

Leave a comment

Filed under Makes Me Happy Monday

Leave a Reply

